Big turnout for fun run fundraiser

_MG_4550Sunday mornings might be sacrosanct to some Pilbara residents as a time to be in bed, but that didn’t stop more than 500 community members getting active for a good cause in last weekend’s Chevron City to Surf for Activ.

The fun run took competitors over 12 and 4km courses with Neil Perry the first home over the longer distance in an impressive 39min33sec to clock just over a 3min15sec per kilometre pace.

At the other end of the spectrum, many competitors were just happy to reach the finishing line with mums and dads pushing prams over the distances and other groups coming home holding hands in a show of teamwork.

Member for the Pilbara Brendon Grylls took part and finished his run with a flourish as he ran backwards to cross the line.

Karratha and Districts Chamber of Commerce and Industry chief executive officer John Lally was on MC duties and said locals had been praising the event.

“There has already been some super feedback, particularly over everyone’s Facebook pages,” John said.

“We’d love to see Chevron City to Surf for Activ back next year, and, if we don’t, we’ll go looking for them.”

Having been running in Perth for 39-years, 2013 was the first time the City to Surf has come to Karratha.

The event is the major fundraiser for Activ, which provides a range of services to people with a disability, such as respite, supported employment, education and training and recreational activities.

With City to Surf fun runs also held in Albany and Busselton and more than 45,000 people taking part in 2012, the event is now the second largest official timed race in the Southern Hemisphere.

To date, it has raised almost $140,000 for WA charities.

Activ Foundation chief executive officer Tony Vis was also in town with his running shoes.

“I was there running the 12km and it was great to share the day with the community of Karratha,” he said.



1st Neil Berry $2,000 Prize Money 00:39:33 2nd Tim Page $1,000 Prize Money 00:39:36 3rd Ben Green $500 Prize Money 00:40:04


1st Claire Hale $2,000 Prize Money 00:51:54 2nd Tania Neeson $1,000 Prize Money 00:52:51 3rd Lesley Dean $500 Prize Money 00:58:40


1st Sam Maxwell 00:14:03 2nd Nathan Keats 00:16:39 3rd David Baker 00:17:27


1st Amelia Greensill 00:21:25
2nd Chanique Kleynhans 00:21:43 3rd Monique De Haas 00:21:45

Photos by Ben Leahy

_MG_4555 _MG_4574 _MG_4572 _MG_4568 _MG_4564 _MG_4561 _MG_4558 _MG_4548

Pin It

Comments are closed.